Book

The House We Grew Up In Book Review

 

house-we-grew-up-in

The House We Grew up In by Lisa Jewell has gotten the New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Bestseller, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller!

I have heard nothing but good things about this novel so I figured I would give it ago. I am so glad that I did! It was so well written and i lost myself in the book. I flew through it in no time as I couldn’t put it down!

The picture perfect Bird family is torn to pieces one Easter weekend. Many years fly by and all of the children have become adults, while their mother has become the county’s absolute worst hoarder. She has alienated her husband and her children and has been living as a recluse. But then something happens that brings the Bird family back to the house they grew up in and to unravel the secrets of the tragedy and come to terms with everything that has happened, all the while their secrets are coming out to the readers.

What a colossally dysfunctional family story! I loved that the book traveled between family members but it was a little difficult at times when it also traveled between different times. I loved the book and every chapter contained something devastating happening to one character or another. The secrets within this family were extremely unexpected. Talk about family drama! This was a very well written book with details given for the reader to just imagine what was going on. It was easy to picture the picture perfect house and all the devastation within.

Let me know if you guys have read this book and if you loved it as much as I did!

xo

Brittany

Leave a Reply

