Hair Care

Dove Style + Care Curls Mousse Review

I have a love/hate relationship with my naturally curly hair. On the loving side it’s great because my hair care routine is so simple. After my shower I brush my hair, run some mousse through it and voila I’m done. I definitely don’t envy people who have to blow dry their hair, but on the more hateful side if I want to do anything different to it it takes about a million years to accomplish. For example if I straighten my hair (I don’t do it very often because of this) it takes a good 2 hours to get it pin straight (I don’t settle for anything less than pin straight). So I’m sure anyone that has curly hair understands my struggle and probably struggles with the same issues. I’m also sure that you now understand why I don’t stray too often from my regular hair care routine.

I don’t even know how long I’ve been using mousse in my hair to control my curl. It’s been many many years, but my switch to Dove Style + Care has been a recent one (like one bottle recent). I normally use TRESemme Flawless Curls Mousse, but when I went to get another bottle they were out of stock. I really don’t like changing products. If something is working for me then I like to stick to it. So I contemplated having unkept curls for a few days, but then I spotted the Dove bottle and decided to give it a chance.

IMG_4491-1

Thankfully switching up brands in this case was a very positive experience. My curls look amazing once they dry (as seen in the picture). I will note that they only really look that good when they’re fresh. The next day they don’t look as good, which is where I think TRESemme Flawless Curls has a one up from Dove. But with TRESemme my curls had that crunchy kind of look whereas my curls are soft with the Dove product. I definitely like the longevity of TRESemme, but I like the softness of Dove. So whether or not I’ll be trading in TRESemme for Dove I haven’t quite decided yet.

What kind of product do you use to control or maintain your curls? Any recommendations?

xo 

Alina

 

Leave a Reply

